World Book Night

I applied to be World Book Night Giver and by the Jan 23 deadline so had 23,516 others! My submission as to why I wanted to take part in World Book Night was “I am passionate about helping people with reading and learning as it makes such a difference to their lives. Giving away free new books for people to keep is a lovely way to introduce them to books.” I have just had a congratulations email to say that I have been selected and will have 20 copies of ‘The Girl with a Pearl Earring’ by Tracy Chevalier to give away on April 23. With a third of all homes in the UK having no books World Book Night wants to change this and introduce people to the love of reading. I’ll let you know how I get on with giving away the books.

23 Things @ Devon Libraries weeks 9 and 10 Social Bookmarking and Tagging

I have set up a delicious account and added the ‘Add to Delicious’ icon to my favourites bar. I have bookmarked 9 websites so far, adding descriptions and tags. However when a tag springs to mind that I should have added I am having diffictulty editing and adding another tag. There is a very useful help menu so I have gone through ‘remember’ to access the linked websites but can’t find the edit pencil icon. Also I have added information to my profile but as yet haven’t managed to upload a photo. Still I am persistent and will work it out. I then need to explore its uses and relevance to my library work.

SWRLS/CILIP Gadget and Social Media Day at UWE on 20th March

I am looking forward to this event with many of the 50 attendees bringing along a wide range of gadgets to demonstrate which I can then try out. It will be really interesting to find out how others use them in their library work. To make the most of the day I am sure it will be helpful before I go to complete 23 Things weeks 11 and 12 Social Networking and sharing sites: facebook and twitter.

Leave a Reply

